Art Journaling.

I know, I know.  It’s been a long time since I’ve last posted on here.  I’m still trying to get into the swing of this whole blogging thing and chances are very strong that I won’t ever be a ‘daily blogger’.  Maybe not even a monthly blogger.  I write when I’m inspired or when I have something to say.  And lately my inspiration has led more towards the art side of things than the writing side of things.

I’ve spent a great deal of time in the last few weeks watching different channels on YouTube.  Vicky Papaioanno’s channel was the first I stumbled across for art journaling and it has inspired me to start creating my own journals, as well as mixed media work.  I absolutely love her use of stamps and all the lovely cards she makes but it is the journaling I intend to focus on.  I’ve even gone so far as to create recycled journals out of cereal boxes that I plan on creating my own pieces in.

The first thing I made, however, was on a large segment of cardboard I’d found at work.  The size and shape of it inspired me to create and the anniversary of my best friend’s death on May 21st gave me a great reason to make something. 

I enjoyed getting to work with some new items.  I hadn’t done anything mixed media before.  Adding actual clock pieces, using stencils with whipped spackle, gluing and covering things with gel medium, and using ink stamps I’d had for years .. this was just a lot of fun to work on and I’m looking forward to exploring other options with the journals.

This past week, I made a number of bookmarks using the scraps from the cereal boxes.  And I finished painting some small slate tiles I’d had for a number of months now — a project I’d been working on for a co-worker.  I’ve really enjoyed finally getting back into the crafty world, something I’ve missed greatly in the last few years.  So you’ll just have to excuse me if I don’t post frequently.

I would, however, like to point everyone in the direction of a few of the people I’ve been watching on YouTube — in case this is the sort of thing you find yourself interested in as well.

  1. Vicky Papaioanno
  2. Sandy Allnock
  3. Kristina Werner
  4. Nicole Magourik
  5. Kellie Murton

These, of course, are just a small number of the amazing people out there sharing their creations.  But these are the ones that I’ve been watching the most from and strongly recommend that you check them out as well.

If you’re more interested in the non-art journaling/stamping type, definitely check out Will Terrell.  His older people sketching videos are amazing and inspired me to start doing that again, as well.  Which is what I do with most of my time at B&N these days!

And, really, that’s all I have to talk about right now.  Check these guys out and let me know what you think.  Or better yet, let THEM know what you think!  Hopefully you get inspired. =)

4 thoughts on “Art Journaling.

  1. I LOVE your mixed media piece! It’s gorgeous! Vicky is the reason I got into mixed media. She is amazing! I’ll have to check out the others in your list. Keep up the great posts, I’m loving them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

