Inspiration

I’m not really having the best of days today.  I came home from work not feeling so well.  Than got a call from my boyfriend ranting about our Jeep being stolen.  I’m actually pretty sure that it was towed because he ran out of gas and walked off to get some in the can.  When he got back, it was MIA.  I can’t get ahold of him because he doesn’t have a cell phone and I have no idea where he was when it happened to call the police in that township.  But whatever.  That’s not the point to this entry so please .. read on.

I wanted to throw up a quick blog entry today because I need to stop worrying and thinking about things that I can’t control.  There are far more important things out there.  War.  Finding a presidential candidate who isn’t going to ‘fire’ people left and right.  Domestic Violence.  Animal Abuse.  Illness.  And millions of other things.

A friend of mine from school is currently doing a 645 mile walk from Chicago to Harrisburg.  That sounds insane, I know.  He isn’t exactly the most physically fit person that I know but he’s stepping outside of his comfort zone for a really good reason.  He’s doing this in hopes of raising awareness for the disease that his older brother was diagnosed with as a kid — Mitochondrial Myopathy.

Honestly, I didn’t even know that his brother had anything wrong with him until I’d read it on his website.  Andy had always seemed like a pretty healthy guy.  I suppose he has one of those ‘invisible illnesses’ that one of my fellow bloggers posts about.  He may not appear to the outside viewer like he’s sick or hurting or that there’s anything wrong with him at all.  But sometimes you can’t see the things that afflict a person.  Doesn’t make them any less true or any less serious.

I have to admit that I’m greatly inspired by Adam stepping out there and doing this.  He’s posting pictures every day on Instagram and giving people updates.  Those who live around the places he is traveling have stepped up to give him shelter, food, and supplies.  Thankfully, he isn’t walking alone, but this is a very long and very courageous journey.

He set up a GoFundMe donation page that has already raised above what he hoped to.  I know it’s a strange thing to put on here, but maybe if you are feeling generous, you might consider donating to the cause if you check out the links I’ve provided.

I can only hope that someday I will do something like this that inspires others.

Leave a Reply

