Finally …

After the crazy trip to get here and more weeks than I prefer to count of nothing going right, things are FINALLY beginning to look up.

First, a quick recap.  Up until January 14th, I was a Pennsylvania resident.  I worked at the same company for 16 years and my final day of work was January 7th.  Quitting my job, packing up the cars, and driving all the way to Florida was a HUGE change for me.  A very stressful change, at that.

If you didn’t read my last entry, you should definitely take a look at it.  It explains in detail the crazy road trip that brought us to our current home.  Right now, the BF is still back in Pennsylvania trying to settle a few things with the court system before he can officially call himself a Florida resident as well.  Hopefully he’ll be able to fly back on Sunday so we can spend Valentine’s Day together but I’ve learned over the past few weeks to NOT count my chickens before they’re hatched.  Old school quotes, right there!

He has actually been in PA since about a week after we got here.  It took us three days to drive here due to car troubles and we were only together for maybe four days after that before he got on the plane to go back.  To Snowmagedon, no less.

Like I said before, I left my job on January 7th.  I gave them five weeks notice and they never bothered to replace my position.  As far as I know, they still haven’t posted it so that it could be filled.  Since then, I have not received my benefits checks as I was supposed to.  It’s been almost 5 weeks since my last paycheck, so bills are currently going unpaid.  I’ve talked to corporate office along with the management at my store and just keep getting the run around.

But that’s beside the point.  There’s really nothing I can do about all that drama, honestly.  I can’t afford a lawyer so I’m obviously not going to turn it into a legal matter.  Hopefully I’ll receive my pay at some point but no clue when.

The whole point to this entry, however, is to say that things are finally looking up.  After the craziness that has been 2016 so far along with the whole experience of this move, I’ve finally found a job!  When I applied, I figured that I’d get a part-time position as most companies these days don’t hire people straight off as full-time.  However!  That was not the case.

I don’t know if I’ve really mentioned it before or not, but I’m a cake decorator.  That’s what I’ve been doing for the last 16 years.  I’ve even won a few competitions sponsored by Hershey.  Thankfully, I had a LOT of photos of my work along with an amazing letter of recommendation from my former employer.  After talking to the manager at my new store/company for about an hour and a half, they offered me a full-time position and a pretty decent wage!

It’s been two weeks since my interview.  My background check finally came back.  I have orientation on Saturday.  And my first official day at work is Monday!

Today, I got to meet my new bakery manager and one of the other decorators.  I’m excited.  I’m nervous.  I’m hoping that I’ll be as good as they hope I will be because I really want to impress them and do a good job.

We have finally reached the new beginning, the start of a hopefully happier part of my life.  Until today, I’d really just felt like I was here for a long visit instead of to live.  Not being able to pay for anything or go anywhere, I’ve been mostly just stuck in my little room at my Mom’s house on my own.  And now, I’ll have a job.  I’ll be able to give her money to help pay for the bills here.  I’ll be able to get my car worked on.  I’ll be able to start buying things that I like, going to new places to explore here, and just enjoy myself.

It’s been a long time coming and I’m excited for this new part of my life to FINALLY begin.

Leave a Reply

